My project to produce a movie from my book Love Is Never Past Tense led me to Stage 32, an online community of 500,000 creatives. When I started to engage with them, an editor invited me to write an article for their blog. I responded enthusiastically (see the article here), which started an email exchange with Rosalind Winton. Rosalind is an editor and lyricist from “across the pond” and we became friends.

After Rosalind read my book, she shared a story from a few branches back along her family tree. When I realized it included a historic event and a song she has written, it was time to invite her to my blog.

Hi Rosalind! Tell us please how your song about the Titanic came about?

rosalind

Rosalind Winton recording The Bear On Lonely Lake audio story

 

I’m so glad you asked me that question, as I absolutely love talking about this; you might want to grab a coffee or something for this story. My Paternal Great Grandfather Harry Corn died on the Titanic. He was married to Rebecca, and they had two daughters Stella and Fay who were about six and four years old respectively. They wanted to travel to America to reunite Rebecca with her family; they had been split up after migrating from Russia. Some of the family went to America and some, including Rebecca, had come to London. They sold their successful upholstery business and bought four tickets for Titanic, but near to the time they were due to leave, one of the girls became ill and couldn’t go. So, it was decided Harry would go on ahead and the rest of the family would follow later. Of course, he never arrived.

The story of Titanic has always meant a great deal to me and I had always wanted to write a lyric about it, but over the years, everything I tried to do just wasn’t right. I was never happy with the outcomes.

One day, Mick Cooper whom I was working with on some songs said “I have a challenge for you!” He wanted me to write a lyric about something “that wasn’t human”. He said it could be about anything at all, as long as it wasn’t human.

I love a challenge, and for many weeks I wrestled with his idea. I tried out all sorts of different connotations on a theme.

One day, I was looking at Harry’s picture, and it hit me: Titanic isn’t human! I’d write about that. Weeks and months went by…  I kept trying, hoping one day I’d have a eureka moment. And it came! It came during the final of the Wimbledon tennis championships. Right at the end of the match, the winner was walking around the court, holding up his trophy.  The audience was applauding. The press was taking photos. All of a sudden, in my mind’s eye, I saw the Titanic superimposed on the TV screen, and the chorus for the lyric suddenly appeared in my head, in its entirety. I grabbed a pen and wrote it down. It was perfect and from there I wrote two verses and a bridge. I decided to put a twist on the whole challenge and write the lyric so that the Titanic came across as human. Within half an hour, I had the whole lyric, I showed it to Mick. He loved it and he composed beautiful music to it.  Mick’s friend John Paul McCrohon has provided a stunning vocal. The song has since gone on to win a Merit Award at the Portsmouth Music Festival in 2001. It’s been aired on the radio and played at Titanic Exhibitions. I am so proud of this song!

Rosalind! I am so proud of you too! My congratulations! Can you share the lyric for us?

You can view a video of it here. Here’s the lyric…

ros-titanic-doblled-backup

Lyrics to A Beautiful Lady – Titanic

Tell us a bit about your lyric writing.

I’ve been writing for over 30 years and enjoyed some lovely achievements. I’ve been lucky enough to see some of my songs performed live on stage, I’ve won awards at music festivals, written lyrics for school plays, solo artists and studio vocalists. I’ve also written for as yet unsigned musicals, which is something I really love doing. My biggest ambition is to write for film. I hope to fulfill that dream one day. Writing my lyrics is something I’ve always been extremely passionate about. I’ve worked in recording studios, overseeing the production of my songs and this is where I get to direct talented musicians and vocalists, people I’ve had so much pleasure working with. It’s the most incredible experience! What I love most, is starting off with a blank page and an idea, and building on that until it finally becomes a fully produced song. There’s really nothing like it. You can see more on the music page to my website.

So, Ros, who has been your main inspiration?

Without a doubt, the genius that is Barry Manilow. When I first discovered him, I was about 17 years old, and I had been writing for a couple of years. I bought Barry’s first album and as I listened to the songs on the album, I realized that was how I wanted to write my lyrics.

I spent hours studying the lyrics of all Barry’s songs. I learned a great deal doing that, especially about structure and timing. Barry also gives his songs big, musical theatre type endings. I realized very early on, that’s how I wanted to write my songs, using the time to ‘say something’, tell a story or portray a feeling and build the song right up if appropriate. I have been a lifelong fan of Barry’s, I learn from him all the time, he’s an incredible performer, writer, arranger. When I write my lyrics, I think of Barry as an imaginary gauge to how I’m doing. I ask myself if I think a lyric I am writing is good enough to show to Barry. If the answer comes back ‘yes’, that is really good, if it comes back ‘no’, I go to re-write mode. Barry has always been encouraging in his messages to his fans and audiences about never giving up, being positive and believing in yourself, which has really helped. I have met Barry a few times. The last time was in New York for a talk he was giving about writing for musical theatre. There was a meet and greet afterwards, and I was able to tell him that I write,  that he has always been my inspiration, and how much I have learned from him over the years.

We met because of your editing work at Stage32.com. You also offer freelance editing as One Voice Literary Agency. How do you describe your editing work?onevoice

Publishers have their own editors and proof readers, but my aim is to inspire, advise and help new authors and those who are already in the process of writing, to reach a high standard of professionalism that will encompass everything a publisher or producer will look for on a first read-through.

I have an excellent understanding of what publishers expect to receive from authors. I also help authors write synopses of their work, the all important covering letters and advice on submitting manuscripts to publishers.

What work do you take on, what do you look for when deciding whether or not to take on a project?

It doesn’t really matter what the subject is, or what the genre is, I work on presentation, spelling, grammar, format if it’s a screenplay, continuity, and character and story development. It could be an epic novel or a short article, a psychological thriller, romance or children’s picture book.

What final message do you have for our readers?

Do what you love, find a way, even if it seems impossible and even if it means you won’t reach the top, do it anyway. Don’t let anyone tell you, you can’t, believe in what you do and grab any opportunity that taps you on the shoulder.

OK, Rosalind. It was a pleasure talking with you. Thanks for visiting us and thanks for sharing your interesting story about your great-grandfather Harry and Titanic.

http://www.onevoiceliteraryagency.com/ https://www.facebook.com/OneVoiceLiteraryAgency/?fref=ts http://www.onevoiceliteraryagency.com/my-music.html  https://www.stage32.com/home/

