L2c BannerI’m sharing the proceeds of my book Love Is Never Past Tense with Orphan World Relief, a charitable organization whose name describes its mission. I have helped them before, as keynote speaker at a fundraising event.

This time, with your help, I’m helping them in my role as author. As part of this, OWR Director of Development Mary Malone and I interviewed each other. File Nov 06, 1 39 15 PM

To start, here’s Mary interviewing me.

MM: At our fundraising event last fall, you talked about your life and why Orphan World Relief is important to you. Can you give us a brief version of that?

JY: There is a Russian saying: “My cabin sits at the edge of town and I don’t want to know what’s going on there”. This means I don’t want to get involved, leave me alone. But our world doesn’t have an edge, our world is round.

There is another Russian saying: “A fed person doesn’t understand a hungry person” — but we do, don’t we? At least we are trying.When I was presenting the Russian version of my book in Crimea, there was a minister talking about a local orphanage that didn’t have food or clothes. When I got home and started looking for orphan support groups I could help, I found you.

MM: So what are we doing this time?

JY: This time, I am sharing the proceeds from August 25 to August 28 of all versions of my Love Is Never Past Tense with the kids who don’t have parents. The book can be found on Amazon.com and here is the link. http://www.amzn.com/B00CIF3KT8

MM: I read the book and found it very inspirational, especially because it is a real life story. Tell us a little about it.

It’s an old-fashioned love story with an original twist of modern history and intrigue woven in.

JY: Allow me to quote a reader: “It’s an old-fashioned love story with an original twist of modern history and intrigue woven in.” It is part biography, part history, but mostly a second chance romantic adventure. If Doctor Zhivago gives a sample of life at the start of the Soviet era, Love is Never Past Tense offers a look at its closing days.

MM: Where can we find out more?

JY: Do a web search for Love Is Never Past Tense … and you’ll find all sorts of sites. Here are some.

Amazon: http://www.amzn.com/B00CIF3KT8     – ebook

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2aHDtSo                            – hardcover

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2aXk7ZR                             – paperback

Web page: http://www.loveisneverpasttense.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/loveisneverpasttense/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/neverpasttense/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NeverPastTense  @NeverPastTense

WordPressBlog: https://jannayeshanova.wordpress.com/

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/c/JannaYeshanova

MM: The ebook version of Love Is Never Past Tense became an Amazon Best Seller in its category. Is that what you’re offering?

JY: It was great to see my book sharing the list with War and Peace and Anna Karenina and the ebook version is one of the formats I’m offering. I’m offering the physical books as well because they make good gifts. People buy physical and electronic books for different reasons. All the editions on Amazon are part of the offer.

MM: Do I understand correctly that there are different covers for the book?

JY: Yes, that’s true. For the hard and soft cover books I worked with a designer from Australia. When I got around to publishing the ebook, he had moved to New Zeeland and was working on another project.  I was introduced to another designer here, in the United States.  Because I published sequels as ebooks, I wanted their covers to have a consistent design.  So, now I have different covers on physical and electronic books and I love them both.

MM: So how do people buy the book?

JY: Buy the book between August 25 and August 28 at this Amazon website: http://www.amzn.com/B00CIF3KT8

Tell Amazon where to ship the book, gift information, and so on. Amazon will take care of shipping and handling. After you’ve enjoyed the book, consider posting a review or comment.

MM: Thank you Janna.

JY: My pleasure. I guess now it’s my turn?

MM: Absolutely!

JY: Tell us about what OWR does.

MM:OWR seeks to be the organization that connects people who are passionate about helping orphans and kids at-risk of becoming orphans with high quality organizations who do that kind of work locally and around the world. With so many charity scams out there right now, we want to take the fear out of donating time and money to help children who need it most.

JY: Does your job call for visiting the orphanages you support?

MM:OWR strives to send volunteers and staff to one of our international programs we support at least every other year. It serves many purposes, including reminding us of how special the kids are we are helping, why helping kids outside of America is just as important as helping kids locally, and ensure the programs are being run ethically.

JY: Do you have a story about the kids you can share?

MM: When I arrived at the orphanage we support in Bolivia last summer, I was immediately drawn to a little 2 year old girl. She was sweet, beautiful, and playful girl. I

Mary and child

Mary and the Young Girl in her story

came to find out that she had only been there for two weeks. She had just gotten out of the hospital because her parents tried to kill her with rat poison because they could not afford to take care of her. She was happy and thriving in the orphanage, and it reminded me how blessed I am and sparked an even bigger passion for these innocent young children who need so much. While orphanages are not the perfect solution, I’m so glad she had a place to go and not only have housing and food, but also to be covered in love by the staff and volunteers.

JY: How many kids do you help?

MM: We have sent out over 100 care kits to foster children in Franklin County since April, and we help hundreds around the world in Bolivia, Honduras, India, Russia, and Ukraine.

JY: What other projects do you have on the calendar?

MM: We have 2 major events, the Superhero 5k Run and our banquet, Hope Changes Everything. The Superhero Run is a partnership with the Hilliard Davidson Band, and the Hope Changes Everything banquet will be November 4 in Hilliard, Ohio.

JY: What else would you like to share with the audience?

MM: We are a small, grass roots organization. However, with the help of volunteers, and many people donating small, manageable amounts of money and time every month, the Central Ohio residents are able to help hundreds of children in need locally and around the world.

JY: Where can people find out more?

MM: We’d love for you to visit our website at http://www.orphanworldrelief.org.

JY: Thanks so much. I’m looking forward to our event!

 

